Skip to main content
Skip to main menu



The faculty and staff of the Division of Biological Sciences offer their congratulations to Paula Rios on the publication of co-authored "Salmonella genomics and population analyses reveal high inter- and intra- serovar diversity in freshwater" in Applied and Environmental Microbiolo

This December, Rishabh Jaryal’s research paper “Initial trials and tribulations towards understa

The faculty and staff of the Division of Biological Sciences offer congratulations to Nicole Steel for the following publication in Issue 5.1 of The Classic Journal: "The Effect of Macromolecules on the Movement of The American cockroach, 

Please join us in congratulating Honors Biology student Adele Bloodworth on the publication of her essay "Conglobation of Armadillidium vulgare as a Behavioral Adaptation for Thermoregulation" in Issue 5.1 of The Classic Journal. Y

Support our Department

Your contributions keep us going! There are numerous ways to give. You can donate or attend our events.

Every dollar given has a direct impact upon our students and faculty. 

Undergraduate Research in Biology

Undergraduates majoring in biology have the opportunity to enhance their learning through direct participation in research and scholarship. At UGA, these opportunities enable undergraduates to participate in ground-breaking research, often as part of a team of graduate students and faculty. In fact, many students can earn academic credit while working under an experienced faculty mentor by taking BIOL 4960R or working directly with the Center for Undergraduate Research Opportunities (CURO). The Biological Sciences Undergraduate Research Fellowship (BSURF) has been established to support undergraduate research opportunities in the Division of Biological Sciences within the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences. The Fellowship provides financial assistance to a student who has not had an opportunity to participate in a mentored research experience (paid, volunteer, or for credit) since matriculating to The University of Georgia.